(Is this your photo?)

‘Star Wars’ is getting an official EDM album, set for release on Feb. 19th

If you’ve been paying even the least bit of attention, you’ve probably noticed that there are some Star Wars fans here at DMNW. Whether it was our article on every Star Wars track we could find on Soundcloud, or our entire day of Star Wars memes on Twitter, something has probably given it away. Now today we celebrate an exciting piece of news with you: There is going to be a Star Wars-themed electronic album. We have Def Jam co-founder Rick Rubin to thank for the compilation which will be titled Star Wars Headspace and feature a ton of our favorite artists.

“The way it worked, we got a big old sound archive, and they said, just don’t sample any John Williams music, but do whatever you want with the sounds.” – Flying Lotus

We can look forward to tracks from Flying Lotus, Zane Lowe, Kaskade, Troyboi, Galantis, Bonobo, Claude VonStroke, and so much more. Artists were allowed full access to any and all sound effects from the entire catalog of movies. Flying Lotus announced his involvement during a Beats 1 broadcast recently, when he premiered his production “R2 Where R U?”

This is a Star Wars-loving raver’s dream come true. Just think of the possibilities! Check out the track list below, and let us know what you think. If you were making a Star Wars track, what clever name would you call it?

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0′s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7″
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

Here’s a little preview of the album to give you an idea of what’s in store. The album will be released in digitally on February 19 and in hard copy on March 18 through Hollywood Records. Pre-order your copy of the album on iTunes here, and may the force be with you while you wait!

via Star Wars