(Is this your photo?)

Excision Announces Late-October Release Date for New Album

After releasing one of our favorite albums of the year in 2015, we’re ready for more of the same when Excision’s new album drops in late-October. The third solo work of his career, Virus will be released on October 25th, and is currently available for pre-order on iTunes. With your pre-order, you’ll get a tune we’ve been enjoying in the Kelowna-native’s most recent Shambhala mixThrowin’ Elbows featuring Space Laces. Whenever Excision, also known as Jeff Abel, releases new music, everyone pays attention. You can count us in the masses who will be waiting patiently for the latest tunes from the fan-favorite.

No stranger to collaborations, Excision utilized his catalog of bass connects throughout Virus, which features artists like Protohype and Datsik, as well as MCs Messinian and Sam King. An artist we’re more than a little happy to see scattered all over the album is Dion Timmer. The young-Dutchman has releases on Rottun Recordings and Firepower Records throughout his career, but featuring on five tunes throughout Virus is quite a spotlight to shine on one of the top up-and-coming bass artists around.

Other tunes fans may recognize on the album, that feature on Excision’s 2016 Shambhala mix, include VirusDeath WishThe ParadoxWith YouRave ThingNeck BraceFinal BossMirrorHarambe, the previously mentioned Throwin’ Elbows, and a VIP version of Africa. We love it when an artist puts their unique sound and style into their sets, and nobody does it quite like Excision at Shambhala. His set was one of our favorite of the weekend, and we see that as a great sign for Virus.

Let us know how excited you are for more new music from Excision, and check out the tracklist below! Comment below, on Facebook, or reply on Twitter!


  1. Virus
  2. Neck Brace (feat. Messinian)
  3. Throwin’ Elbows (feat. Space Laces)
  4. Rave Thing
  5. Drowning (feat. Akylla)
  6. Africa (feat. Dion Timmer)
  7. Are You Ready (feat. Protohype)
  8. Death Wish (feat. Sam King)
  9. Mirror (feat. Dion Timmer)
  10. Generator
  11. G Shit (feat. Sam King)
  12. Her (feat. Dion Timmer)
  13. With You (feat. Madi)
  14. Final Boss (feat. Dion Timmer)
  15. The Paradox
  16. Harambe (feat. Datsik & Dion Timmer)